Sign In


Do you have an inspiring project that makes Australians more disaster resilient? Enter the Resilient Australia Awards today.

2017 Resilient Australia Awards​​​

23 May 2017

​The Resilient Australia Awards recognise and promote initiatives across the nation that support and strengthen community disaster resilience.

Applications are judged first at the state and territory level. Winners become finalists for national judging and have the chance to win a National Resilient Australia Award. 

S​​​tate and territory award categ​or​​ies:​

  • ​​​​​​​Resilient Australia Community Award - Open to communities, non-government organisations, tertiary colleges and universities. 
  • Resilient Australia Business Award - Open to the private sector and business.
  • Resilient Australia Government Award - Open to local government and state government. 
  • Resilient Australia School Award - Open to all public and private pre-school, primary and secondary schools only. This does not include school related projects managed by a local or state government department.
  • Resilient Australia Photography Award - People's Choice - Open to individuals and copyright holders.​​

National Awards 

  • Resilient Australia National Awards - Projects which crossover three or more jurisdictions and the winners of the state and territory Resilient Australia Community, Business and Government Awards are considered for this award.
  • Resilient Australia National School Award - The winners of the state and territory Resilient Australia School Award are considered for this award.
  • Resilient Australia Photography Award - The winners of the state and territory Resilient Australia Photography award.
  • Vote for you favourite photo - You will be able to vote for your favourite photograph from 4-21 July 2017.

The awards promote initiatives that strengthen c​ommunity disaster resilience across the nation. By celebrating innovation and exemplary practice, the awards showcase work that is often unseen, motivating others to think about how they can be better prepared and more disaster resilient.

The Resilient Australia Awards are proudly sponsored by the Australian Government Attorney-General's Department in conjunction with the states and territories. OEM is the Western Australian awards convenor on behalf of the Minister for Emergency Services. Resilience-building is a key component of OEM's and SEMC's focus on emergency management in Western Australia. 

Visit 2017 Resilient Australia Awards Pla​tform to submit an application or email for more information​.