Sign In
March 05
Submissions now open for 2018 Resilient Australia Awards
  • Awards celebrate initiatives that build resilience, make communities safer and better prepared for natural hazards or emergencies

  • City of Mandurah, last year's national winner  

Emergency Services Minister Fran Logan is encouraging Western Australian businesses, community groups, government agencies, schools and individuals to take part in the 2018 Resilient Australia Awards.

The awards, which began in 2000, celebrate initiatives that build resilience and projects that make communities safer, more connected and better prepared for natural hazards and emergencies.

Last year, the City of Mandurah was awarded the top prize, the National Award, for the development of the Equi-Evac Centre Network, a planning and evacuation scheme to protect horses during times of emergency.

The Resilient Australia Awards are managed by the Australian Institute for Disaster Resilience, and sponsored by the Australian Government in conjunction with the States and Territories. The State Emergency​ Management Committee is the awards convenor for Western Australia.

Submissions can be made via the online portal at and close at 3pm (AE​ST) on May 31, 2018.

For more information, visit 


Comments attributed to Emergency Services Minister Fran Logan:

"Western Australia took out the top honours last year and if successful again, it would be a ringing endorsement of the great work that many of our State's organisations and individuals undertake to be prepared for natural hazards and emergencies.

"We face an ever-drying climate which brings a much greater risk of potentially catastrophic bushfires, and all members of the community must play their part to be ready for such natural disasters.

"Floods are increasingly impacting our communities, and an increased population and further industrialisation also brings its own risks.

"Good luck to all of those making an awards submission."


Minister's office - 6552 6300

Commonwealth media release: Nominations sought for 2018 Resilient Australia Awards​ 

 ‭(Hidden)‬ Blog Tools