Sign In
January 23
Disaster assistance for WA communities after Cyclone Joyce

​Minister for Law Enforcement and Cybersecurity Angus Taylor and the Western Australian Minister for Emergency Services Francis Logan today announced the activation of disaster assistance for 12 local government areas in the wake of Tropical Cyclone Joyce a week ago.

Minister Taylor said assistance was being provided through the jointly-funded Commonwealth-State Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements (NDRRA).

"The activation of assistance under the NDRRA will ensure affected communities have support to help them recover," Minister Taylor said.

Minister Taylor said that a range of assistance was now available to support eligible people, small businesses and primary producers in the local government areas of Broome, Cunderdin, Dalwallinu, Dandaragan, Gingin, Moora, Northam, Quairading, Upper Gascoyne, Victoria Plains, Wongan Ballidu and York.

Minister Logan said the Australian and Western Australian governments recognised the importance of acting quickly to help these communities.

"Some of these areas were also affected by Tropical Cyclone Hilda in late December 2017, so they have been hit twice in just a few weeks," Mr Logan said.

​Assistance available under the NDRRA may include:

  • personal hardship and distress assistance for affected individuals and families
  • financial support for affected local governments and state agencies to help with the costs of cleaning up and restoring damaged essential public assets
  • interest rate subsidies for small businesses and primary producers
  • freight subsidies for primary producers. 

The assistance available for this event is divided into categories. For further information, visit:

Information on disaster assistance available for natural disasters can be found on the Australian Government's website at

​Emergency Services Minister's office - 6552 6300​

 ‭(Hidden)‬ Blog Tools