Sign In
July 04
Leadership award highlights how emergency management stakeholders are working together to create safer, more resilient communities around WA

​​On 29 June 2018, the Office of Emergency Management's (OEM) Director Risk and Resilience, Andrew Sanders was awarded Leader of the Year working within a Division /Team /Organisation at the prestigious Institute of Public Administration Australia WA (IPAA WA) leadership awards ceremony.

The agency has been strongly engaged in transforming state-wide preparedness since 2012 through its new, innovative programs in emergency management. With outputs that​ have been recognised by the Commonwealth as some of the most advanced in Australia, Andrew said the collaborative inputs of approximately 2500 personnel from 200 agencies have been a vital factor to the year-on-year collation/analysis/interpretation of WA's hazard risks and EM capabilities across government.

Andrew Sanders: "The vital contributions from these agencies, together with the critical work and achievements carried out by DFES, OEM and the SEMC is actually enabling a more resilient State. I am very thankful for the tireless work of my regional services, capability and risk and preparedness teams, in promoting resilience across the Western Australia."

Through this award, Andrew's contemporary leadership across the three divisions he oversees has been recognised as innovating emergency management in WA to bring about safer communities that are better prepared for emergencies and disasters.

Read more about all 2018 IPAA WA leadership award winners here.

Andrew Sanders accepting the award at the ceremony  

(pictured with Deputy Opposition Leader the Hon. 

Michael Mischin MLC).​


 ‭(Hidden)‬ Blog Tools