Resilient Australia Awards                            


​The Resilient Australia Awards celebrate initiatives that build whole of community resilience to disasters and emergencies around Australia, as well as images capturing resilience in action. The awards recognise collaboration and innovative thinking across all sectors.

Now in its 21st year, the awards recognise outstanding contributions in each state and territory in six categories: community, business, local government, government, school and photography. The program recognises a wide range of initiatives; with past projects centred on risk assessment and mitigation; education, training and research; and community engagement, as well as response and recovery.

The Resilient Australia Awards is proudly sponsored by the Australian Government in partnership with the states and territories and managed by the Australian Institute for Disaster Resilience (AIDR).


Award categories

The Resilient Australia Awards is a two-tiered program. Submissions are judged in the state or territory they are submitted from, with winners from each state and territory considered for national awards.

State and territory award categories

Business Award

Open to businesses and the private sector including, tertiary colleges and universities.

Community Award

Open to communities, community based or focussed organisations, and non-government organisations.

Government Award

Open to state and federal government agencies

Local Government Award

Open to local governments and local government associations.

Photography Award

Open to individuals and groups.

School Award

Open to all public and private pre-school, primary and secondary schools only.

Guidelines and Submission Details

For more information please contact or